Hi, How Are You?

The main point of this har thang, obviously, is to get my writing out there.  Anything I write (at least, anything I want people to see) will go here.  But the other point is to further explore the kinds of reviews I like to write, in a non-review way.

About a year ago, I discovered Kieron Gillen’s New Games Journalism and latched on to the method like a tick (writers learn through imitation, right?)  Since then, what I try to express with my reviews is how a game makes me feel, not necessarily, or simply, what it does.  Since there’s no such thing as an objective review, I make a point of being as subjective as possible.  I try to convey a descriptive narrative of my experience rather than write an analysis of a game’s formal qualities (I do include some of that, for the reader’s reference).

I’m not so interested in consumer report stuff (previews, regular reviews), industry coverage (“news” i.e. free PR…not that that doesn’t have a place) or even the business or design trends.  I’m much more into the imaginary part of games: how imaginary places are created, how they work, how the game works with them, and the unspoken contract the player signs when they play — to what extent they can work with a team of unseen developers to become immersed within a narrative bubble.

So, branching from reviews I’ll probably get into some game diarist stuff and nitpicky minutia (<3), and see where I can take it from there.

In that interest, I’ll hopefully learn enough of Dwarf Fortress one of these days to actually get a story or two out of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Intro

Leave a Reply

